Tokopedia stopped accepting international credit cards

IndoTom

I've been using the Tokopedia online store in Indonesia for several months now with my credit cards from back home in the USA. Suddenly this month they stopped accepting them as payment with a transaction failure saying they don't take international credit cards. The Lazada online store doesn't work either. Has anyone else experienced this issue? Any work around?

jstar

Mr. 10,000
I can imagine that sucks. On Tokopedia I only use OVO and KlkBCA transfer now.

harryopal

Charter Member
I make a direct transfer from my BCA account using the option as offered on the Tokopedia pay options.

IndoTom

I can imagine that sucks. On Tokopedia I only use OVO and KlkBCA transfer now.
Can I add money to OVO with a foreign credit card? The issue is that I don’t have a KITAS/P so no local bank account to do transactions.

jstar

Mr. 10,000
Often people top up via Tokopedia with a credit card but that might become a catch 22 situation.

You can also top up with many Grab/GoCar drivers. But that's with cash and often 100K max so then you'd have to go to an ATM first.

Now perhaps the most interesting for you, is topping up at Alfamart or at an OVO booth.

These are the locations:

Nimbus

Charter Member
Cager
Tokopedia must have gotten tired of local scammers using stolen foreign credit cards.

IndoTom

Now perhaps the most interesting for you, is topping up at Alfamart or at an OVO booth.

These are the locations:
OVO might be an option but it seems to have a max top up amount of 2,000,000 IDR for the basic membership.

Jamu

Charter Member
Cager
Tried to do a transaction with Traveloka today in Indonesia, using a foreign credit card. Received the message that 'the transaction was unsuccessful' and had to process by bank transfer, so perhaps it's a bigger issue than just Tokopedia.

El_Goretto

Cager