NPWP for KITAS ex-WNI(c318)

dannyboy

Hi all,

I am currently living in the country with my WNI wife (she is working informally in a family business) whilst living off our saving and investment overseas. Early next year, I am hoping to convert my KITAS to KITAP ex-WNI and perhaps find some non-corporate jobs/start a small business to support our family (thus not 'breaching' the definition of 'working' in UU no 6 2011 Pasal 61).

I have been advised by my relatives to apply for NPWP after I get my KITAP (my wife already own one) so that I can lodge my tax return properly for the income I get from the future jobs and overseas investment. This way, when I lodge my tax overseas, it is clear to them that I have been taxed in Indonesia.

Any thoughts/experience on this matter? I am wondering whether they might ask for IMTA before I apply for NPWP? Also, I am worried that they might raise the issue on why I need an NPWP, if I am not technically a TKA with IMTA.

Thanks!

Helpful Herbert

I tried to get an NPWP as a KITAP holder, but as I don't have a business or employer here they rejected the application. If you have your own business or plan to start one, then you can declare this on the application, and then I think you would get one.
There is also a planned law change in March 2020 that foreigners will only be taxed on Indonesian-sourced income in the future, therefore you wouldn't need to include the overseas investment (I guess wait until the law comes out to see the details).

dannyboy

Thanks for the reply Herbert, very helpful!
I see, so you are not allowed to apply for NPWP unless you can prove that you have an employer.
How does it work for wife sponsored/ex wni KITAP that can't officially be employed by one?

jstar

Mr. 10,000
It depends on income. If it's more than 54 juta (from the top of my head), you are required to have a NPWP (TIN). If the financials of the couple are combined, you can add 4,5 juta for the spouse.

jstar

Mr. 10,000