Looking for international telecom provider/app

Serik

Hi, newcomer here. I just recently moved to Indonesia about a month ago. I am from Mongolia and it's my first time moving to somewhere else. I have elderly parents left back in my home country and I'd like to talk with them from time to time. They are not really tech savvy and don't have smarphones or even internet, just old and rusty Nokias. Yeah, and landline.

So my question is: how do I call mobile or landline to Mongolia from Indonesia? I mean cheap ways. I can definetely call from my indosat sim card but it is going to be expensive.

I tried Rebtel app, but it did me dirty, I had bad connection and problems and they did not refund my money.

I also saw some other app, Yola or Yolla or something like that, they seem better and have cheaper prices. I haven't tried it yet. Is it an okay one?

I think your easiest option would be to buy them a very simple smart phone to use in Mongolia. You’ll have to teach them to use it but in terms of call quality it is your best option I imagine.

My parents are not tech savvy at all, yet they managed to learn whatsapp. Your best bet is to give them a very simple smartphone, then load it with nothing except the essentials, whatsapp, and perhaps skype.

Yolla is not bad. Of course you have to buy credit. The same for Skype if you want to call landlines.

I checked Mongolia and saw that Yolla is almost ten (10!) times cheaper than Skype, 2.5 dollar-cent per minute versus 22.2 dollar-cent to call to a Mongolian landline.

I had great and not so good results with both, they're both easy to use. I needed such a system to make ultra long calls with companies and governmental organizations in Western Europe. I guess you'd better try for yourself first.