Do expat Kitas holders have a right to maternity leave?

Amethyst

Does anyone know if maternity leave applies to expat Kitas holders?

I'm a teacher on a two year contract at a school that has managed my Kitas as well as my work permit here in Indonesia. I recently got married to an Indonesian and became pregnant. However, my school has offered me only one month of maternity leave at 25% of my regular salary, only under the condition that I sign a new two year contract after my current contract expires.

This offer is very different from the 3 months of maternity leave, paid at 100% salary, that is written into Indonesian law for citizens. (pasal 82 in UU #13 2003) Is my school's offer legal?

Does anyone know if maternity leave applies to expat Kitas holders?

I'm a teacher on a two year contract at a school that has managed my Kitas as well as my work permit here in Indonesia. I recently got married to an Indonesian and became pregnant. However, my school has offered me only one month of maternity leave at 25% of my regular salary, only under the condition that I sign a new two year contract after my current contract expires.

This offer is very different from the 3 months of maternity leave, paid at 100% salary, that is written into Indonesian law for citizens. (pasal 82 in UU #13 2003) Is my school's offer legal?

The law makes no distinction between foreign or WNI workers, so yes, you are eligible for paid leave 1.5 months before and 1.5 months after birth. A company can not make a contract that is against the law of the country either.

Now, fighting a company is never an easy task in Indonesia. I think you should try to settle it without using outside resources first. Are they aware of this law, and did they simply say "no, we're not going to do it?"