BCA IBAN

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
It has probably been covered before but (I can't find it) I need an IBAN for my Indonesian BCA acct to receive a payment from UK.
Its a pension thing so my options are very limited, otherwise I would happily use an alternative system.

So how do I do this guys please?

I have the Swift code already.
Thanks
 

snpark

Well-Known Member
Cager
Joined
Sep 30, 2016
Messages
1,755
Swift is CENAIDJA
If you know your specific branch number 3 digits it can be added but not needed
CENAIDJAXXX

Iban is not really used in Asia, so they will tell you they don't know etc etc

Usually the European Iban is sort code and account number combined with 11 herbs and spices

So it is account specific usually, not for the bank or branch alone
From the UK you will not have problems if you give your account number, name, Swift code, and bank name and branch address
They don't make such a drama as USA banks
 

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
Well they had all of the above & still failed to process it, so will wait & see what comes back in response to my email.
 

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
Thanks for the input, I think I probably asked that self same question before, & then forgot :D
I shall try & remember this time :)
 

snpark

Well-Known Member
Cager
Joined
Sep 30, 2016
Messages
1,755
IBAN is actually solely for use within Europe, all other countries use swift codes.
Europe uses Swift codes
IBAN is an optional fail safe but unnecessary

Like posting a letter. You can put the house number and postcode in UK and it will arrive. Or you can write the full address

IBAN is the full bank branch etc ID ref

Swift and account name and # is sufficient for most banks
 

Dominique

Member
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
32
IBAN is an optional fail safe but unnecessary
No, within Europe if you wish to use your online banking system to transfer funds, at least to an individual you must use the IBAN code.
"Following October 31, 2016, the use of the international bank account number (IBAN) is sufficient and mandatory "
 

snpark

Well-Known Member
Cager
Joined
Sep 30, 2016
Messages
1,755
Maybe within Europe. EUR to EUR countries. But asia doesn't use it
Uk to uk uses sort code
 

stt_cibubur

Member
Cager
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
68
Use TransferWise is easier👍. The money will arrive instantly to any destination. My husband transferred money to my indonesian account ( Without IBAN) and to Netherlands and its arrived within 5 minutes.
 

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
Use TransferWise is easier👍. The money will arrive instantly to any destination. My husband transferred money to my indonesian account ( Without IBAN) and to Netherlands and its arrived within 5 minutes.
I do use T/Wise, but for this I cannot, & still the money hasn't transferred. I am beyond pissed off with the incompetence of the sender.
 

stt_cibubur

Member
Cager
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
68
I do use T/Wise, but for this I cannot, & still the money hasn't transferred. I am beyond pissed off with the incompetence of the sender.
My company account in Permatabank, also doesnt have IBAN, but my principle/partner from UK, Belgium, Italy, Germany, China never had any problem transferring money for our commission. Sometime they did lil booboo.. like wrong spelling, etc. Fortunately the CS of Permatabank always helpful.. any discrepancy get sorted quickly.

Its more than enough if you can provide them the Bank name, Acc No, beneficiary, branch code, Swift code, bank address. If all above details still cant transfer it.. all I can say is ‘dumb axxx!!
which bank do they use?
 

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
My company account in Permatabank, also doesnt have IBAN, but my principle/partner from UK, Belgium, Italy, Germany, China never had any problem transferring money for our commission. Sometime they did lil booboo.. like wrong spelling, etc. Fortunately the CS of Permatabank always helpful.. any discrepancy get sorted quickly.

Its more than enough if you can provide them the Bank name, Acc No, beneficiary, branch code, Swift code, bank address. If all above details still cant transfer it.. all I can say is ‘dumb axxx!!
which bank do they use?
It is a pension thing & they are doing everything arse about. Anyway, it all seems to be sorted now- they were trying to send in the wrong currency... or something, last excuse i had before that was that I had given them incorrect bank numbers (untrue) ...
So- who knows I could be "rich" tomorrow ... or (more likely) not hahaha
 

stt_cibubur

Member
Cager
Joined
Dec 5, 2019
Messages
68
It is a pension thing & they are doing everything arse about. Anyway, it all seems to be sorted now- they were trying to send in the wrong currency... or something, last excuse i had before that was that I had given them incorrect bank numbers (untrue) ...
So- who knows I could be "rich" tomorrow ... or (more likely) not hahaha
Most likely ( 99% sure) the admin person in charge input the wrong number and blame it on you. Sound familiar.. lol
Glad it sorted. Lets party💃🏻💃🏻🕺🏽 .. lol
 

Puspawarna

Moderator
Moderator
Cager
Joined
Jul 15, 2016
Messages
2,512
Please let us know how it all turns out, BA. I've got my fingers crossed that it gets sorted soon.

I've had to deal with a lot of painful, incompetent bureaucratic nonsense lately, so I feel your pain and frustration.
 

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
Please let us know how it all turns out, BA. I've got my fingers crossed that it gets sorted soon.

I've had to deal with a lot of painful, incompetent bureaucratic nonsense lately, so I feel your pain and frustration.
I am still trying to come to terms with officially being a pensioner hahahaha
 

Bad_azz

Well-Known Member
Charter Member
Cager
Joined
Jul 16, 2016
Messages
2,891
Ok the money finally arrived, yet from the day it should have been sent to when it arrived, the xchange rate dipped... AND fees...
I lost nearly 10 million IDR in this, that is ridiculous by any stretch of the imagination, so I am extremely pissed off with this & have called on them to investigate.
They initially said they exchanged from GBP to USD which then got exchanged to IDR in my bank- that seems like 1 exchange too many to start with.
They should have just sent GBP.
I expect a full investigation into this & if they do not do something constructive I shall report them to the ombudsman.
The loss in just the currency exchange rate dip was around 4 million IDR- so surely theydidn't take 6million in fees- whatever that is in GBP
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Follow Us

Latest Expat Indo Articles

Latest Activity

New posts Latest threads

Latest Tweets by Expat Indo

Online Now

Newest Members

Forum Statistics

Threads
4,452
Messages
67,719
Members
1,811
Latest member
catchadeal
Top Bottom